Day 20- Halstatt


Image

Seriously?

And I thought I had seen the most beautiful place in the world- everyday of this trip.  But the mountain village of Halstatt may have just topped them all.  It didn’t help that my first instinct was that it reminded me of Jenny Lake in the Grand Teton’s- which ultimately is my favorite place in the entire world.

After taking a bus, bus, train, and a ferry to arrive, I knew that that the long journey was worth it.  Halstatt has been a mining town for as far back as 550 BC, and is very proud of it.  In fact, the salt mine is fully functioning not only as a mine, but for tours as well. ImageImageImageImageImageImage

Image

ImageLucky for us it was a Sunday.  Which means all the locals adorn their traditional dress and attend church that is decorated with fresh flowers.  I may or may not have been in tears with a wide-opened mouth in disbelief that liederhosen is, in fact, still in style.  As badly as I wanted a pair for myself, I did not like it enough for the pricetag.  So instead I found a more fitting alternative:

ImageImageImageLIEDERHOSEN APRON. WITH MATCHING OVENMIT.

There will be some fine cooking done in this apron.  Mark my words.  This apron was such a hit that several of the girls had to go purchase one of their own, we completely wiped out the entire town of these babies.

Image

The highlight of the day was the decision to rent a small motorized boat and explore the town on the water.  I am no officially an international boat driver- even if the boat didn’t go over 5 MPH.

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

 

And now for the moment you’ve all been waiting for: the local of the day!

Image

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Day 20- Halstatt

  1. Jessica says:

    Hahahahaha I literally laughed out loud when I saw that apron instead of the liederhosen. I cannot wait to see you cook in that baby. haha and you look so nautical with those stripes on! 🙂 Such a fun looking village!

Leave a Reply

